silly odyssey

in favor of uncommon domains

One of my favorite things on the internet are personal websites and how unique they are or can be. Even when they follow a sort of content pattern (an about page, a blog page, a contact page, a now page) or have very similar layouts, they still are unique on their content since each person is, after all, unique.

And further into the personal website category, there's one detail that always caughts my attention: websites with unusual domains. Surely it looks nice (and professional) when a person has its own namelastname.com, but I just love it when I come across a .site, .me, .page, .work, .fun, .online. I mean, the fact that Bearblog is a .dev space makes it cooler than an ordinary .com.

Besided, I also like it when people don't necessarily go for their personal name (although I'm aware sometimes this is more of a availability issue than an actual preference). I spent the first 10 years of my internet life using nicknames from characters I love or identified with and it was fun! I probably wouldn't have a personal website called elizabethbennet.me1 today but I wouldn't turn away from the idea of having a personal website that has not a straightaway obvious URL. I mean, why not? In my mind, the internet is not supposed to be so serious. Perhaps I don't actually want to be a part of the namelastname.com crew.

_

  1. For anyone not into Regency era classics, this is a Pride and Prejudice reference.