silly odyssey

tying up loose html and css ends

Like many of my generation, I first started dabbling with HTML/CSS and design when I was a teenager (about 15 years ago!). And, like many of my generation, I decided that this would be my chosen career path (to be honest, I'm not quite sure this would me my choice today, but I digress) and after graduating in graphic design, I ended becoming a UI/UX Designer.

However, I carried that knowledge of HTML/CSS I had from, again, 15 years ago, into my professional life, and you know it, it did start to became obsolete in some ways. Sure I knew what's a div, how to set a font and adjust paddings, but these tags called aside and nav and this thing called flex? I had no idea. I felt that the HTML/CSS knowledge I claimed on resume should come with a footnote. But since most of my work doesn't involve code directly, it didn't affect my professional life that much.

Then recently I decided to stop messing around and just learn what was lacking. I took some basic courses and got through it. Sure I had to go over some very basic concepts firsts, things I knew for ages. But I also finally learned concepts that aren't so new anymore and that were the missing pieces to understand and apply the languages fully. I can remove the imaginary footnote I have on my head everytime HTML/CSS comes up and confidently say: I know it.

I guess this is, in a way, a success story? I often obsess about things I should've done or things I should be better at but never get to it. And this time, I actually did it. Cheers!